Day 14: A musical sprint-thru (4/14/12)

Posted: April 15, 2012 in Musical Rehearsals, Singers
Tags: , , ,

Marc Lowenstein has been running a tight ship at the Kasimoff-Blüthner Piano Co.  and yesterday afternoon we got to hear the fantastic results: a full run-thru of the opera. It was all of our first time hearing the piece as a whole, and it was quite overwhelming, mostly because I could see that we have assembled a dream cast: every single one of them exceeded my hopes for this piece, and them as a group is part of what makes this project so very exciting:

Tenor Jonathan Mack asked me, “I’m curious to see how you’re going to do some of this.” My response: “Me too!” Because if I knew, we wouldn’t really need a rehearsal process, now would we? But the play-thru was a great way to start visualizing the opera with our installation getting closer to completion, and I drew a few schemas for rehearsal during the musical run, which I’m sharing here if no one holds me to actually fulfilling this:

Leave a Reply

